Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

The box of delights

Posted by Martin on December 20, 2012

Box of BfK Limited Edition Figures from Peter F.

Box of BfK Limited Edition Figures from Peter F.

Phew! It’s hard work to keep up with this but I thought I should give you all a progress update on the BfK Limited Edition Figures project. As you can see from the photo, I’ve received a wonderful box full of cast packs of figures from Peter F., which he managed to get done before setting off on his Christmas holiday.

I’ve gradually been working through e-mailing everybody who has placed orders to sort out payment details. There are only a couple of people left to contact, so thank you for your patience. The other thing I have started doing is carefully packing the orders in bubble wrap and padded envelopes, labelling them up and getting them ready for a monster trip to the Post Office. To be honest, this is more likely to turn into several smaller, more manageable, trips. Packing is a surprisingly time consuming process (and I speak as somebody who had anticipated that considerable effort would be required) which has given me a keen appreciation for what it must be like for small wargames figures companies who have to do all their own picking, packing and postage to fulfil orders – not to mention keep on sculpting and casting new figures to add to the range and satisfy our insatiable appetites for new toys.

Please bear with me as I work my way through all this. I’ve got orders from 15 different countries, so some of you are unlikely to receive your parcels in time for Christmas but I’ll do the best I can to get them all on their way this week.

First batch of orders ready for a trip to the Post Office.

First batch of orders ready for a trip to the Post Office.

After the hard labour is done, I shall be moving on to the much more pleasurable activity of painting up a pack myself. This first pack is destined to make up the figures for the prize draw and enable me to write the promised painting guide. My plan is to make detailed step-by-step postings as a I go along, so you can all join in and paint along with me if you like. Regular BfKers will know that my painting rate is normally exceedingly slow, so you don’t need to worry about not being able to keep up if your figures don’t arrive quickly! I’m toying with the idea having a small painting competition based around this phase of the project but that needs some thinking through – not to mention the question of a prize for the winner.

Lastly, mention of the painting guide reminds that I have an appeal for help. I’m trying to track down two specific Knötel plates:

  • Band XVI, Plate 34: French Artillery Train Trumpeter 1st Company, 9th Battalion 1812-13;
  • Band XVIII, Plate 29: French Baggage Train 1807.

Both of these contain details that will help me prepare the painting guide. So if you are able to help locate them, that would make me very happy.

11 Responses to “The box of delights”

  1. Rob Kenny said

    Great news… Looking forward to seeing the miniatures in person.

    Of course, it would also be great to have some artillery batteries to place this vignette behind. Any chance of getting a calpe towers update in the near future? This fall seemed to be quite quiet on that front.

    All the best and happy holidays to you and yours!

    Rob Kenny

  2. Exciting times. I’m looking forward to getting my figures although being domiciled in New Zealand I’m not expecting to be one of the early receivers . 8O)

    The “Paint along with Martin” sounds interesting. Perhaps it will aid me out of my current painting doldrums.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to one and all.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Paolo said

    You had two fantastic ideas about ” paint along with me” and paint competition,
    Just for fun works well for me.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all wargamers

    Paolo

  4. plancenoit said

    HI MARTIN GOT FIGURES EXCELLENT WORK AGAIN FROM PETER F CAN’T WAIT TO GET PAINTING ONCE I HAVE GOT MY EYES SORTED THANKS AGAIN
    CHEERS PETER

  5. Burkhard said

    Lovely… Faster than I thought… Really looking forward to mine!

  6. Gerald Burke said

    Hi Martin,
    Figures arrived safely just in time for Christmas – and they were well worth waiting for.
    Thank you so very much.
    Regards
    Gerry

  7. Simon said

    Figures received before Christmas, lovely figures,
    Many thanks Martin,
    Best wishes,
    Simon

  8. The figures have arrived safely in New Zealand today. Very nice. Christmas continues! Time to make room for them on some of the empty paint bottles I use as paint stands.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  9. Jeffrey Smith said

    Figures arrived in Australia today. Looking forward to following the tutorials.
    Thank you Martin.

    Cheers,
    Jeff

  10. John Snead said

    Figures arrived in the USA today. Thank you, Martin!

    John Snead

Leave a Reply

 
