Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Drum roll please

Posted by Martin on August 11, 2012

Converted Perry plastic drum.

Converted Perry plastic drum.

Given that I was away on my holidays, everybody else participating in the La Bricole Summer Painting Challenge got a head start on me. Hopefully, I’ll catch up over the next couple of weeks, starting from today. When I declared my entry, I promised there there would be a couple of embellishments and here’s the first one: a moderately converted drum from the Perry plastic French infantry box. I’ve turned it into a battle-damaged and abandoned drum over which my brigade command figures have draped a map for a tactical consultation. It was pretty straightforward to realise with a bit of gluing, drilling and putty work.

So now all I have to do is decide which unfortunate unit has lost one of its drums. That choice will influence the colours I use to paint the drum hoops. Quite a lot of choices here: white and red dogtooth pattern for Prussians, white and green dogtooth for Russians, plain blue for French, plus various diagonal striped options for Austrians, Saxons and even some Prussian units. Any requests?

4 Responses to “Drum roll please”

  1. Jeffrey Smith said

    How about the 6th LIR (1.West Prussians)?

  2. A great idea and great execution Martin. The only question is … why is there a dog inside the drum? – I can see it’s tongue!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Darren said

    How about 1st East Prussian Grenadier Battalion Martin?

Leave a Reply

 
