Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

If at first you don’t succeed

Posted by Martin on July 25, 2012

Blimey! Almost two months since I last posted. I only spotted that tonight when I finally found the time to deal with some outstanding e-mail. How did the time pass so quickly? Well, to be honest, I know the answer to that: “real life” got in the way of hobby activities.

So thank goodness for Les Pinceaux de la Guerre over at the La Bricole forum. Robert’s announcement of the forum’s second painting challenge has come at just the right moment to re-ignite my enthusiasm coming, as it does, just when the clouds of work commitments are beginning to clear. And I’m doubly motivated because I didn’t manage to complete my entry for the first painting challenge by the deadline. This time I rate my chances of completion much more highly because the theme is diorama bases which means a much smaller number of figures to paint.

I’ve chosen to paint up a couple of brigade command bases using the Calpe French Infantry Regimental Headquarters pack (F18) as the cadre for my entry. My minimum target is to have two bases each with one foot figure and one mounted figure. If things go to schedule, I also plan a couple of extra embellishments which I’ll unveil in a week or so’s time.

If you’ve got a moment, take a look at what my fellow forum members have declared as their entries. There are some fascinating options on offer and most of the guys will be maintaining threads in the forum about their progress as well as posting on their blogs too. And that really illustrates the spirit of this challenge (notice how it doesn’t use the word “competition”) that appeals to me. We’re all in it for the honour of participating and perhaps a little collateral glory for the eventual winner but the main purpose for the entrants is to support and encourage each other and share our ideas and techniques.

So, now’s a good moment to invite you to cheer on the entrants who have so far declared their hands (my apologies in advance for not mentioning any late entries that emerge after this posting):

So you can vicariously enjoy all our progress (or the lack of it) between now and the closing date at the end of September. Who knows? This may even tempt a few of you to join in.

16 Responses to “If at first you don’t succeed”

  1. Rob said

    Good to see you posting again… Hopefully its not two months to the next one!

    Rob

    • Martin said

      Amen to that. There will be a short gap of a week or so while I take the family and various animals to Scotland. But I should be back on the case after that.

  2. Burkhard said

    Looking forward to seeing your entry finished this time! Good luck in the challenge!

  3. Good to see you back Martin. You know that I’ll be watching your entry closely for insights on how to paint my own Calpe French Infantry Regimental Headquarters pack.

    So what’s the latest from Calpe Towers? Some of us are very keen to hear the latest before Peter F. goes on his annual August holiday.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    • Martin said

      I thought you might say that. Of course, there’s nothing stopping you from painting your own Pack F18 for the challenge. I know you’ve one! And you don’t want to be wasting your time on all the ACW stuff really, do you?

      I’m afraid there’s not much news to report from Calpe Towers at present. After the August break, there will be some changes to the website so look out for that. Also, I’ve made a suggestion to Peter F. about doing a special little something but I don’t want to say anything yet in case he’s not game for it.

      • Burkhard said

        Argh, August holiday! I might be in the UK for a week or so late August (holidays in either Scotland, Wales, Kent or Cornwall or in other words almost anywhere as long as we can find some decent hotels / B&Bs at such short notice) and was hoping that I might have Peter ship something to my holiday home and safe some on the shipping. As they say… No plan survives first contact with the enemy!:-/

      • Rob said

        Too bad… I’ve been hoping that the French light infantry command packs would be ready as I too was hoping for a treat to paint on my August holidays.

        Rob

  4. John Michael said

    Thanks for the referral to my blog, Martin. Good luck in the challenge.

    I am a bit of a proud Newfoundlander though, so I usually describe myself as: J’habite à Boston, mais je suis de Terre Neuve. If you get my drift!

    John

  5. Jason said

    Good luck in the challenge Martin, and thanks the for mention on your blog. I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s projects progress, but I’m even more excited tot finally get going on my 1813 Prussians as a whole. It’s always nicer when you have something to share yourself. 🙂

    Jason

    • Martin said

      Thanks Jason. Good luck to you too. What I find extra interesting this time round is that many of us are using our blogs as well as La Bricole to chart our progress.

  6. Dave said

    Thank you for the “link up” Martin. Good luck with your challenge pieces I look forward to seeing them completed😉

  7. John Michael said

    It is John De Terre Neuve, not Terre Neuva

Leave a Reply

 
