Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

The perils of over-excitement

Posted by Martin on April 20, 2011

My excuse is that I was too excited to notice. I’d been waiting to get my hands on those Calpe French for so long, so I think it’s understandable that I didn’t spot my incy-wincy error – especially since Peter F. wasn’t well enough to hand over the figures in person. By the way, for all of those who were kind enough to ask, Peter is feeling a lot better now. Thank you!

So swiftly on to my confession…

When I received two bags of six Calpe French figures, I instantly assumed that all twelve were unique poses. Well, Peter has gently pointed out to me that they were in fact two sets of the same six figures. Don’t blame me – none of you spotted it from the photos 🙂 On the plus side, Peter has confirmed that there is another pack of French fusiliers in uncovered shakos and a third pack with bare heads, head turn variants and forage caps (I think this means pokalems). There are also four voltigeur figures and four grenadier figures.

Peter has asked me to mention that the pack of six fusiliers in covered shakos is available to order NOW (Product Code F1). The others will be available soon and, without wishing to jump the gun, I think that means before the end of this month in some cases.

12 Responses to “The perils of over-excitement”

  1. rob said

    Great news!

  2. Gary Amos said

    We spotted, but were too polite to say . . . .

  3. Thanks for the update Martin. Things are moving ahead with some pace it appears. Hopefully we’ll soon be able to order a complete French battalion with all the constituent parts including a mounted officer or two … or three!

    Four voltigeur and four grenadier figures are interesting numbers in that don’t tally with how the Saxons were packaged (either in sixes or threes).

    I’m glad Peter F. has recovered. I’m not sure that he’s allowed sick leave with so much to do!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  4. Blancard said

    Nice to know that the grenadiers and voltigeurs will be different sets! Though appart from the musician, what’s different? I believe voltigeurs may have been shorter in size, may have had different (shorter) rifles, and maybe the grenadiers won’t have a short saber?

    Blancard

  5. Phil said

    I’m going to check back every day until you tell us they are all available and what the ordering codes are…..

  6. Simon said

    Will the website be getting updated when the other figures are available?

    Blancard, under the Bardin regulations the voltigeurs should have had no epaulettes on the coat or greatcoat and no short sword, although many chose to ignore the regulations and had them anyway.

    • Martin said

      What we usually do is waiting until all the figures/packs that make up a set are ready and then update the website with details of the complete set. So, in this case, it’s the French line infantry march-attack set and there are figures for a couple more packs to get finished before we update the website. Those being the grenadier, voltigeur and command figure packs.

  7. Simon said

    Hopefully there will be a pack of say 6 figures wearing just the pokalem as I believe that was quite common in 1813 due to a lack of headgear, Simon

  8. rob said

    Having now received 2 packs of the french with covered shako, I can say that Martin’s initial photos do not do the miniatures justice. They are beautiful sculpts, easily some of the best miniatures I’ve purchased from Calpe.

    I can’t wait for the rest of the march-attack models to be available for purchase!

    Rob

    • Thanks for that Rob. This is indeed good news. It’s also bad news in that I’m not sure how much longer I can sit on my hands. It would be a much better to order a full unit or two once all the ‘bits’ are available … but then again perhaps getting a start on some fusiliers isn’t such a bad idea!! 8O)

      Salute
      von Peter himself

Leave a Reply

 
