Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Green shoots

Posted by Martin on September 14, 2010

Vallejo Panzer Aces colour chart

Vallejo Panzer Aces colour chart

I’ve got to paint some things green soon but, despite the large number of greens in the Vallejo Model Colour range, I can’t find one that’s just right for what I want. Now, before you say it, yes I know I could mix my own shade but I’m a fundamentally lazy painter and if I can find a shortcut, I will.

So, this week, I’ve had one of those “Aha!” remembrance moments. I’ve just recalled that there is an often overlooked extension to the Vallejo Model Colour acrylics range – and, no, I don’t mean the Game Colour range. The ones I mean are the Panzer Aces paints that were designed in conjunction with the magazine of the same name especially for use on World War Two armour and tank soldiers uniforms. Usually these paints are sold in sets of eight bottles and I’m not going to buy seven irrelevant colours to get just the one I want. But the attraction is that are soooo many greens. Maybe one of them will be just right for my needs.

The “Aha!” moment came when I realized that it’s actually possible to buy these paints individually rather than in the sets. So I’ve been drooling over the colour chart to work out which ones to select. The trouble is that these colour charts are notorious for not showing the colours are they really are. I’m drawn to Splinter Blotches I (70.346) and Splinter Strips (70.348) as the highlight colour for Napoleonic green uniforms but I don’t know if they’ll work.

So, if anybody has any experience of this range and these colours in particular, I’d be grateful for your observations.

5 Responses to “Green shoots”

  1. Alan said

    There were many shades of green in Napoleonic uniforms, which regiments/nation do you mean?

    • Martin said

      Aha! I knew somebody would ask that. I’ve got several things in mind: cuffs and collars for Prussian Westphalian landwehr, coats for Saxon artillery, facings for two Saxon line infantry regiments and (eventually) French chasseurs a cheval.

      • While ‘we’ are about it why not add French dragoons to the list for a comprehensive looksie at green? Of course the search for this particular green may be complete for you Martin in which case I would be interested to hear the result.

        Salute
        von Peter himself

  2. John M, said

    vallejo reflective greens a great colour Martin, add black for the base colour and drop of flesh for the highlights, it gives a real dark green, I used it on a couple of empress dragoons, to get the benefit of the colour give at least a couple of coverings,
    also while I mind get the vallejo smoke, for doing mettalics, after first metal coat give a coat of smoke and then highlight the bright points, bloomin marvellous,

    john

  3. Phil said

    I obsess about colors. I think I kind of enjoy obsessing about colors. That seems kind of weird when I say it out loud, but it’s true. I wonder whether there are many miniature games who are *not* obsessive about colors?

Leave a Reply

 
