Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Black and red all over

Posted by Martin on August 18, 2010

Gunner with ammunition box.

Gunner with ammunition box.

I’m making steady progress with the figures for my first Prussian horse artillery base and now I’ve started to work in detail on the fourth of the five figures for it. I have a target completion date in mind and if I can keep up the current rate of progress, I might just achieve it. Apart from the face and hair, everything so far is shades of black, grey and red but that’ll soon change with the grey-blue of the ammunition box plus this chap has a nice leather satchel for me to paint too (though you can’t see it in the picture here because he’s holding round his back with his left hand).

No particular painting notes except that Vallejo Carmine Red is now a permanent fixture in my red palette. It’s a really red red, if you see what I mean and fits nicely as the layer before the more orangey red of Vallejo Scarlet.

4 Responses to “Black and red all over”

  1. Ralph said

    Very nice – I’m interested in your comments on the Vallejo Reds as I’ve always struggle with this colour, the coverage in my paints always seems poor – I might dig deeper in my pockets and invest in Vallejo if I can get them down under… Do their yellows cover well also?

    • Martin said

      Hi Ralph,

      The question of coverage with reds and yellows is, I know, something that seems to bother people. I’ve never really had a problem with it – white coverage is my personal bête noir (or should that be bête blanc?).

      For the red in this post I’ve used the following Vallejo colours (working up from basecoat to final highlight): Hull Red (V985), Red (V926), Carmine Red (V908), Scarlet (V817) and Orange Red (V910). Of course, you don’t have to go mad and use as many layers as me.

      The trick is to use thin layers and understand that the first two colours are actually quite dark – especially the Hull Red over black which will look like a deep brown. It’s better to apply two thin coats of these colours rather than attempt complete coverage with one thick coat. The other thing to do is to let the paint dry completely between layers otherwise you’ll start to get a rough chalky finish. If that starts to happen, don’t panic. Simply remove the paint and start again from black.

      My approach for yellow is similar. The Vallejo colours I use (from basecoat upwards) are: Ochre Brown (V856), Yellow Ochre (V913), Flat Yellow (V953) and Lemon Yellow (V952). Again (and perhaps more so than with the reds) applying more than one thin coat with drying time between coats is the way to go. This is especially important with the first colour Ochre Brown.

      Does that help at all?

  2. Ralph said

    Yes thanks muchly Martin. I suspect I don’t have your patience but I will certainly try that technique with my GW paints and see how I go. Yes White can be a challenge too but I happen to have stumbled across a cheapo craftpaint bottle that lays down beautifully – I don’t know what I’ll do when that runs out!

Leave a Reply

 
