Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Proof of the pudding

Posted by Martin on January 7, 2010

I’ve spent the last couple of evenings poring over PDF of my soon-to-be-published Wargames Illustrated article. Dan e-mailed this draft version to me over the holiday period and I promised to get back to him with any errors that I spotted.

A few of the things I noticed were misunderstandings and oddities that crept in during the layout process. But the chastening part of the process was that I realized that several of the errors were down to yours truly and the copy I originally submitted to Dan. Now the typos I can shrug off but the factual errors got me more worried. I had a few moments of imagining the sort of letters to the editor that some of my more glaring mistakes might have generated. Hopefully, I’ve spotted all of them though I can see that regular BfK readers will enjoy the challenge of gleefully teasing me about any that I’ve missed.

The article looks nicely laid out and extends to a surprising ten pages. Dan’s added a little extra with a painting guide that uses some AB 15mm figures as an example. So all there is to do now is sit back and wait for the next issue of Wargames Illustrated to hit the news-stands.

4 Responses to “Proof of the pudding”

  1. Rob said

    Glad to hear that this is finally seeing the light of day. I’ve already reserved my copy. Did the photos you took turn out well?

    In any case, it’s nice to hear its on its way… Now we just need to hear some news from Calpe about those grenadiers and artillery pieces and 2010 will be off to a great start!

    Rob

  2. Great news Martin. It will be good to see an article on one of my central gaming periods. It seems a while since there has been one. And 10 pages – that’s a major article in WI. Congratulations. Are Dan etc leaning on you for a follow up article yet?

    And the best news of all is that we can all play ‘spot the factual error’ in the article and report back here! 8O) Are there to be prizes?! 8O))

    More seriously I can sympathise with the error thing. I’m a failed proof reader. Even on the little updates to my website I seem to be incapable of spotting all the errors until I’ve published them and then they leap out at me like some mad jack-in-the-box. I then have to feverishly go and correct them before too many others spot them.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

Leave a Reply

 
