Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

I might live to regret this…

Posted by Martin on July 21, 2009

But it’s one of those things you’ve just go to try.

My blog hosting service provider, WordPress, has just released another fun new feature – just how much fun it will prove to be for me depends on you lot though. That’s because this new feature lets people rate stuff on the blog. There are three specific sorts of stuff I can enable ratings for – posts (like this is), pages (like the Saxon Army Resources page) and comments.

I’m not going to enable ratings for comments for now because I think that would be overkill. But I am going to put my fragile (noises off: “yeah – right, who’s he kidding?”) ego on the line and let you all rate posts and pages. To do this. locate the row of stars at the bottom left of the text. Then simply drag your mouse across the stars until it displays the rating you think I deserve and click.

It’s as simple as that. I’d ask you to be kind but actually I’d prefer you to be honest because the feedback will help me do better stuff here.

4 Responses to “I might live to regret this…”

  1. OK, I’ve voted. And it appears to have worked, though at the time of commenting I think I’m the only one who has voted so far so it’s hard to tell for sure.

    It’s a shame that you have to actually go into a post to rate it as I normally just read the latest post(s) on the home page.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    • Martin said

      Yes, I’d noticed that irritating limitation. I’ve posted a comment with WordPress about it to suggest that they change that. Let’s see if they get around to making a change.

  2. Alan said

    The only problem I can see with star rating is that the stars don’t tell you exactly WHAT the reader likes or doesn’t like. It’s not really constructive criticism/praise unless followed up with a survey, then I imagine it might be really useful.

    • Martin said

      True. But it’s a bit of fun really and will hopefully give me a flavour of peoples’ favourites. Plus, if anybody wants to elaborate, they can do what you did, Alan, and post a comment.

Leave a Reply

 
