Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Purist? Look away now!

Posted by Martin on April 3, 2009

You’re recommending an SBS about painting a space marine? In 1/16th scale? On CMON? Are you quite mad?

Well, let’s not answer that one. But, yes, this is one step-by-step exhibition of extraordinary patience, skill and technique that you really should not miss. Somebody operating under the avatar of giganticdark deploys a full arsenal of ideas to create something very special. You can bet your last sous that lots of Golden Demon entries over the next couple of year will be er… “inspired” by this.

3 Responses to “Purist? Look away now!”

  1. Bart said

    Truly an inspired piece of work. Thanks for the link. I don’t go to CMON too often since it’s mostly fantasy/SF oriented. The subject matter doesn’t interest me, but some of the posters over there can paint very, very well. I learned a number of things today.

    I always find it interesting that the 40K and Warhammer Fantasy gamers are more likely to put serious amounts of artistic effort into their armies than historical gamers are. I wonder why that is?

  2. Bart said:

    “I always find it interesting that the 40K and Warhammer Fantasy gamers are more likely to put serious amounts of artistic effort into their armies than historical gamers are. I wonder why that is?”

    I think that part of it is the freedom that is available to fantasy and science fiction genres. I know of several above average painters who are put off historics by the thought of getting uniform details wrong … and what may be the consequences!! Sad but true.

    Of course there seems to be a whole hobby based around fantasy and science fiction figure painting, so maybe that’s it.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Pete B said

    Thanks for this, I heven’t been over to CMON for a few months and would have missed this. I think we historical types can learn an awful lot from the fabtasy/Sci-fi painters at the end of the day we’re all painting miniatures.

    I suppose the amount of time people put into their figures is really down to what motivates them – painting or gaming. I’d class myself as a painter who sometimes games and so put a lot of effort into my painting. That said I’ve managed to paint two battalions of French infantry since 2007.

    When it comes to single finger painters I think both historical and fantasy genres are well served but the fantsasy painters seem more willing to share their knowledge and techniques on websites such as CMON. I don’t actually know of any sites that provide this for historical painters although their seems to be a few magazines that provide this.

Leave a Reply

 
