Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Review: Perry French chasseurs a pied by Alan Miggin

Posted by Martin on May 15, 2008

Today marks the start of an occasional (hopefully) ongoing series of guest contributions and reviews. We begin with regular commenter Alan Miggin’s review of the new(ish) Perry Miniatures 28mm French Napoleonic Imperial Guard chasseurs a pied. And what better way to start with a photo of the unit painted by Alan…

Alan Miggin\'s Perry chasseurs a pied

Alan writes…

I noticed that Martin was intending to have a look at the new Perry Guard Chasseurs while at Salute, so as I was in the middle of painting some, I thought I would offer to send some pictures of the finished product by way of a review, which Martin kindly offered to post on his blog.

The figures needed a fair amount of cleaning up prior to painting and one of them had a slightly damaged sabre hilt. Painting them was straightforward and although the detail is not particularly pronounced, it’s all there and I found it easy to pick out. The figures are a bit on the “lanky” side but that’s fine for Guard figures. As you can see from the picture, there are several variations of the standard pose to add realism. Overall, I am pleased with them, and would certainly purchase more. My only gripe is the amount of cleaning up I had to do before I could begin to paint them.

Thanks Alan and my apologies for taking a while to post your review. If anybody is interested in making a guest contribution, let me know – but no promises, mind!🙂

10 Responses to “Review: Perry French chasseurs a pied by Alan Miggin”

  1. Randy said

    The lanky description is quite appropo. My initial reaction to Perry figures was that they were way to tall and thin…until I realized that the Front Ranks that make up most of my troops are actually a bit too chunky. Especially for Napoleonic troops after a few weeks of marching and fighting.

    I do think the Perrys take a slightly different style of painting. I have found that for best results you have to thin down the paint and apply very thin coats to coax the most out of their figures. Helps to have a delicate touch too.

    I do wish the Perrys would do the earlier uniforms. I have purchased some of the OG Chasseurs though. They will be replacing some unpainted similiar FRs. The FRs will become part of the Royal Italians for an 1809 campaign.

  2. Alan said

    Thanks Martin, nice to see my review up there. I hope it stimulates others to make guest contributions too, I’m looking forward to seeing them.

    Next I plan to have a shot at painting some Saxons, when they’re ready…….

  3. Alan said

    I agree Randy, I would love to see an 1809 range, I wonder if anyone??? would consider doing a decent range of Saxons for that period….

  4. Dave Jarvis said

    Hello

    I have read with some interest how other painters have experienced the ‘Perry Miniature’s’ Range of ‘Chasseurs A Pied’. I was chuffed enough to paint a batch of their command group fairly recently

    I like the way they are posed; they are not ‘too tall’ (after all Captain Coignet was no giant!); the equipment looks right and they even possess the distinctive ear-rings! If they get round to doing more releases with variations in headgear then it would be possible to represent the ‘rag-tag’ appearence associated with the ‘Middle Guard’ Regiments. Mouth-watering!

    Dave J

  5. Phil said

    I find all the Perry figures need quite a bit of work before you can get to painting. I wonder why their molding process is so much worse than what seems standard today?

  6. Alan said: “I agree Randy, I would love to see an 1809 range, I wonder if anyone??? would consider doing a decent range of Saxons for that period….”

    I’m not sure if their style will suit you Alan but I’m fairly sure that The Assualt Group (TAG) are going to do 1809 Saxons to go with their newish 1809 Austrian range. Me – I’m hanging out for some 1813 Saxons. Know of any range out there, or nearly out there, they may be of interest?! 8O)

    BTW, nice unit of Chasseurs. Me – I’m hanging out for the Calpe French … which hopefully are still in the pipeline somewhere and have not died of plastic poisoning! 8O))

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  7. Peter said

    guys how do te Perry /Front Rank and Calpe figs match up sizewise re mixing in units etc? thanks

  8. Martin said

    In terms of size the Calpe figures are a little taller and slightly chunkier but nowhere near as er… “well fed” as Front Rank figures. The main difference between Perry and Calpe figures is in style. Both achieve a high degree of accuracy and movement but the Perry figures seem more delicate to me. There’s a certain decisiveness and boldness about Calpe scuplts.

    Both excellent but in their different ways. I think that mixing figures from both manufacturers in the same unit wouldn’t work but having complete units from each in the same army or on the same table would be fine.

    Speaking personally, I find the Perry figures need a lot of cleaning up to remove casting runners and flash. They don’t suit my painting style – or maybe my painting style doesn’t suit them!

  9. Laurent said

    Hi all,

    since I have started painting a batch of those chasseurs recently – I am painting very slowly😦 – I can also add my feedback:
    – I like the fact they are well detailed and not chunky
    – I didn’t have to do much cleanup, barely one minute per head
    – and the uniforms are very historical (though I don’t know yet how I will paint the fanion… any suggestion?)

    If I had the choice between a 1809 range and a british-prussian 1815 range, I’d go for the second one first, to complete the 1815 series. (historically though I find the pre-1812 campaigns more interesting)

    Laurent

  10. Dave Jarvis said

    Hi there

    Just in case anyone is uncertain about the fanion coulr scheme here is an extract from ‘Soldiers of the Napoleonic Wars’ by B.Fosten (Surrey, Almark):

    ‘The Battalions which took part in the final assault (Middle Guard at Waterloo) probably carried the ‘fanions’. These were small rectangular flags on short black staffs thrust into the muzzles of muskets of senior NCOs’. For the Grenadiers they would have been red with a black painted flaming grenade in the centre and four similar grenades one in each corner. For the Chasseurs a green flag with either black or yellow bugle horns. p.26

    Hope this is of use.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

 
