Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

More from Doktor Saxonstein’s paint laboratory

Posted by Martin on May 3, 2008

Saxon shako version 1Saxon shako version 2Mwah-ha-ha-ha! I’m beginning to wonder if trying different paints and colours for this trial figure is having an effect on my sanity and I’m not seeing the wood for the trees any more (aside: did anybody watch “My Family” on BBC1 last night?). Anyway, here’s the latest tweak – some slight repainting of the shako. It’s the same colour palette as previously but I’ve tried to introduce more folds.

I think this is a definite improvement but it’s still not quite what I have in my mind’s eye as the desired final outcome. I’ve put the previous incarnation (left) side-by-side with the the latest unpdate (right) for comparison and I’ve reverted to my usual 200 pixel tall picture (rather than 250 pixels used in recent posts). On my screen at home, 200 pixels is about the actual size of the figure. If you see what I mean.

Anyway, keep the comments coming – they’re proving very helpful.

One Response to “More from Doktor Saxonstein’s paint laboratory”

  1. Phil said

    These look to be only slightly different from French post 1812. I think the French no longer carried a sword, and carried the bayonet scabbard on the right hip where these have both on the left. With the figures in greatcoat will there be any discernable difference? Perhaps there are more differences with officers?

Leave a Reply

 
