Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Late for 2008

Posted by Martin on January 9, 2008

That’s just how I feel. Ten days into the New Year and it’s only tonight that I think I’m catching up with everybody else who started 2008 over a week ago. Why?

Well, I’ve just been through a Christmas I don’t wish to repeat in a hurry. I’d expected about two weeks off work at home with the family enjoying the festivities and sneaking in a fair amount of painting time. What we got was a long trek north to Scotland and back for a family funeral closely followed by the worst bout of flu She Who Must Be Obeyed and I have ever experienced.

So apologies – I do have some photos of Steve Maughn’s Plancenoit demo game from Partizan that I’d intended to put here and in the gallery on the Calpe site. And I was aiming to take some photos of the landwehr casualty figures I was working on in December. Hopefully, I’ll begin to catch up this weekend.

I’m not the only one who’s plans were blown off course unexpectedly. Those of you waiting with bated breath for the first Calpe Saxons are probably going a bit blue in the face. Poor Peter has been delayed by an unexpectedly high level of Christmas orders and the fact that these figures need a substantial range of head variants. Peter also had a big family celebration he was duty-bund to attend over the holiday period. He’s only just got back to the workbench this week and has asked me to pass on his apologies to those of you patiently waiting.

6 Responses to “Late for 2008”

  1. Giles said

    Sorry to hear yoou had a grim time of it, Martin. Hope you and your family are fully recovered now.

    Happy New Year.

    Giles

  2. Good to see you back Martin. Not so good re your Christmas activities. Shame on SWMBO for passing on her flu to you. Then again, if you Northern Hemisphere types must have Christmas in the middle of winter ….

    I’m looking forward to picture updates all over the place! 8O)

    I figure the Saxons will come when they come. I’m quietly confident that I’ll be happy with them when they do eventually march into my barracks as brand new recruits … and I’m still getting them as a Christmas present whenever they are released!

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Martin said

    Giles, Peter: Happy New Year to you both and thank you for your kind words. It was actually me who went down with the lurgi first and then infected SWMBO đŸ˜¦

  4. Phil said

    I read a book about the great influenza of 1918 over the holidays….

  5. Phil said “I read a book about the great influenza of 1918 over the holidays….”

    LOL. Perhaps you could let Martin know the title and he could buy a copy for his SWMBO.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  6. Phil said

    Right. I think it was called the Great Influenza. It is a great read. It’s mostly focussed on north america rather than Europe or the rest of the world. The best part about it I thought was the history of medicine in north america from about 1880 on, catching up with Europe.

Leave a Reply

 
