Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Out clubbing in Auld Reekie

Posted by Martin on August 28, 2007

I’m back from my holidays and I’ve caught a cold from the er… changeable Scottish weather. Still, there’s plenty of good stuff to do North of the Border and this is the ideal moment to thank David Imrie and his colleagues at the South East Scotland Wargames Club for their kind hospitality when I went along to one of their Thursday club nights in Edinburgh.

It’s a very active club, even though David told me that I’d attended on a quiet night, and they organize the annual Claymore show. Sadly, though, the future of this event is under threat because of plans to redevelop the Meadowbank stadium. If that venue goes, it’ll be hard to find an alternative that makes future Claymores finincially viable. So I’m crossing my fingers that things work out.

I got to see David’s growing Byzantine WAB army close up. The painting’s really impressive, especially at the level of whole units. I’ve always thought that David is one of our very best painters of complete units. Pity their commander wasn’t so impressive on the night🙂 Now WAB isn’t really my thing but it was interesting to discuss the rules and tactics with people who know them well. It’s remarkable how little skirmish and cavalry tactics changed from ancient times to the Napoleonic era. David and his oponent Andy both used skirmishers to harass the enemy and screen their own formed units. heavy cavalry finally decided the day and routed the remaining units. Plus ca change, plus ca la meme chose, as Boney might have remarked.

Anyway, my thanks again to David and Co. for looking after me so well.

Leave a Reply

 
