Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Dabbling with dappling: part 3

Posted by Martin on August 9, 2007

Grey w-i-p #3 Since I’m about to set off on my Summer hols, I thought I’d leave you with a photo of the latest work on good old General Borstell and is trusty steed. The general has a painted face and cap now plus I’ve been doing work on his saddlecloth. The problem with Peter F’s sculpts being so good is that if he’s sculpted it on a figure, I feel obliged to paint it. Prussian generals’ bearskin saddlecloths have four stars on them. Peter’s sculpted them, so I’ve had to paint them. It took a couple of attempts before I was happy.

On another day (when I’ve got more time) I think I could easily devote a whole posting to these pesky little stars. I can tell you that I spent an evening scratching my head after I decided that my first attempt just wasn’t good enough. It took study of several pictures, a change of palette and a switch to a different painting technique to achieve what you see here. And there’s no guarantee that, when I get back from holiday, I might decide that they need doing again. So feedback appreciated to give me a view. I’m meeting up with master painter David Imrie next week, so maybe I’ll ask what he reckons.

7 Responses to “Dabbling with dappling: part 3”

  1. Giles said

    I think it looks excellent Martin. As for dappling, there are a couple of shots of dappled horses in the Perry Miniatures advert in the new Wargames Illustrated. Mr Adcock painted them and they are ****ing amazing. Looks like very carefully blended, wet-palette stuff. Have a great holiday!

    Giles

  2. He’s looking pretty spectacular Martin.

    Your approach to the figure is quite different to mine … as is the end result! 8O)

    For a Prussian in Prussian Blue I will black undercoat, ‘slop’ the Prussian blue on, drybrush some highlights, and then do the other colours starting with the flesh which tidy up the figure as it goes. A very agricultural approach I’m afraid!! 80)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

  3. Martin said

    Giles, Peter: thanks for the kind words. The first think I did when I got home from my hols was look at this figure and I was actually quite pleased. So now it’ll be on to the good generals’s uniform. Plenty of grey ahead for me 🙂

    If you want to see something spectacular, check our Sasha Herm’s vignette of Perry French lancers under fire on Steve Dean’s forum. That’s a really inspiring piece of work.

  4. Giles said

    I have seen thos lancers and they are indeed spectacular. What always amazes my about Sasha’s work is his colour mixing – how does one think to mix Elf Flesh in with lancer green?!

  5. Martin said

    Mixing flesh tones with colours to lighten them isn’t actually a new technique. It gives a more natural result than using white, say. I first came across it it David Imrie’s work over five years ago. I dareay it goes back much further than that.

    And this is the point at which some well-educated art student will chip in with a treatise about colour theory…

  6. c v Fahnestock said

    I love your style of painting…do you have a ‘how to’ on painting like this?
    *****

  7. Martin said

    CV: I don’t really have a “how to” guide. Partly because I don’t really have the time to write one at present, partly because my photography skills are so poor and partly because others have already written guides that cover the techniques I use.

    I do, however, try to post work-in-progress pictures here and provide details of the paints I use.

    Here are few references to places where you can pick up tips and techniques:

    Steve Dean’s site: There are two step-by-steps (SBS) that show the layered technique over a black basecoat which many painter (including me) use: Squeakthro’ 1 and Squeakthro’ 2. Also, check out SD’s discussion forum – especially the painting and WIP sections. Many of the very best painters regularly particpate here and they’re a really friendly bunch so don’t be afraid to ask for help.

    Tom Weiss’s site: In particular, there’s a guide to painting WW2 US paratroopers.

    Sascha Herm’s site: Some interesting insights here include photos of work in progress on some French cavalry – notice Sascha’s home made wet palette and details of Sascha’s winning entry at the Salute 2006 painting competition.

Leave a Reply

 
