Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

The pale horse rides again

Posted by Martin on April 13, 2007

Blimey, two postings in one day!

This is just a quick one to update progress on that pale horse. Shots from both sides to show that painting of the horseflesh is complete (I’ll come back to horse furniture later) and I’ve started on the rider’s head. For humans, I always do the collar and above first.

Pale horse w-i-p #2aPale horse w-i-p #2b

If this weekend offers a quiet period, I’ll be painting a lot of grey and black for this chap’s coat, the horse furniture and the fur saddlecloth – not to mention his trousers. After that I should be into the home straight with details like his sash, telescope case, pen and notebook

2 Responses to “The pale horse rides again”

  1. Giles said

    That’s very well done, Martin. I think you have the highlighing and shading absolutely right, and I like the detail of the different colour at the “knees”. Just out of interest, how long do you think it took you to do the horseflesh?

    Giles

  2. Martin said

    Thanks Giles – I never think my old camera really does justice to the paintwork. Hopefully some kind benefactor will present me with a better one at birthday or Christmas time.

    I’m glad you like the knees – these are a feature I particularly wanted to include on this horse.

    The short answer about the time to paint the horsflesh is “way too long” but that’s partly because I wasn’t happy with the balance of the various shades. When I first painted this horse I overdid the brown in the shadows and ivory highlights at the expense of the mid-tones. So there was a lot of going back over it. I ended up eliminating almost all of the ivory.

    If I were to do another one with the same colour scheme, I think it would take me two to four hours. I’m a notoriously slow painter – just you wait til you’ve got kids and you’ll discover what I mean!

    Anyway, I’m coming to Salute this Saturday so I’ll aim to make a point of visiting the Waterloo game and I hope to meet you in person.

Leave a Reply

 
