Befreiungskriege 1813-14

Painting and modelling 28mm Napoleonic wargaming miniatures

Time to move on

Posted by Martin on February 5, 2007

After over two years and more than a hundred comments, I’ve reluctantly had to retire the original version of the Befreiungskriege 1813-14 blog. The fact of the matter is that some waste of space so-and-so script kiddie hacker started trying to abuse my Web space and I got fed up of the whole thing. Why do idiots like this go round trying to spoil life for the rest of us?

At one point I was on the verge of jacking in the whole thing. But, I’ve got lots of friends around the world who urged me to continue (thanks – you know who you are) and I’m damned if I’m going to give in to this sort of thing.

So we start again. Hopefully, I’ll find a way of importing the archive of postings, pictures, links, comments and all from the original BFK into here. But, for now, you’ll have to put up with a new start on a blank canvas.

Oh yeah, final note: I’ll set up a redirect from the old URL to here but it would be a good idea for you all to update your bookmarks and references to the RSS feed. Right, I’m off now to work out how to set up the RSS feed in WordPress…

3 Responses to “Time to move on”

  1. Peter H. said

    Hi Martin
    Glad to see your back. It was very distressing for me to check your blog daily and not get there!

    The net has such potential yet hackers, spammers (and I might add sites that purport to report history but are a load of rubbish or are pushing an agenda!) etc are truly unwanted.

    Many thanks for adding “von Peter’s” to your links.

    If I get off my butt I may send you a smaller copy of the Reserve battalion that is in the Calpe Gallery. The original is too big and the unit is really painted for the gaming table, not close closeups. 8O)

  2. Peter H. said

    Doh – of course I meant” you’re back”, not “your back” which could be taken completely the wrong way!!!

    Where’s the preview button when you need it. 8O)

    Peter H.

  3. Bob C said

    Glad you are up and running again. Hope to see some more updates of your painting projects soon, particularly your Colours entry.

    Regards

    B

Leave a Reply

 
